Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Issue with matrix subtotals (all rows show the same number)

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI and I am still getting used to it, I've been trying to build a matrix for a dashboard and I am facing some issues witht the sub-totals.

Essentially I have "regions" and I can drop down to have exact locations and an inventory count in each.

The issue is that  when I close the drop down, the sub-total for a given region is the total of all inventory, at least I think it is because all regions seem to have the same sub-total which I know is not possible.

I was hoping someone could tell me how to have a given row's sub-total be the sum of the values when I expand that same row.

(I've attached a screenshot for reference)

Thank you in advance!

kkhadam_0-1656524697405.pngkkhadam_1-1656524714566.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous , thanks.

What values are in the Current Month column, and what do those values mean? 

Instead of counting the rows in the dimension (MeterreadingEquipment) I think you should be counting rows in the fact table (Raw Data). Try this measure and put it on your matrix:

InventoryCount = 
    COUNTROWS('Raw Data')

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous , is Sum of Current Month a measure? If so, please post the DAX formula of the measure.

Also, this issue sounds like it is due to the relationships between your tables. Could you post a screenshot of your data model?

Anonymous
Not applicable

I don't think sum of current month is a measure, I simpli slid it into values and chose sum it was count at first but that did not give the right results, I've attached the relationships below

kkhadam_0-1656527561905.png