Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Irregular salary increase

Hi all!

I am fairly new to Power BI and I'm not really used to all the formulas. Up until now I could work around it, but now I do need some sophisticated solution. 

I have this sample table, which shows mutations (they aren't regular) in someones salary and career, that are not necessarily linked (see Name C) and not everyone starts as a junior (see Name B).

NameDateSalaryCareerStatus
A20-1-2021 €  2.750,00JuniorIN
B5-12-2020 €  3.500,00Senior 
C1-12-2020 Medior 
C20-10-2020 €  3.100,00  
D8-3-2020  OUT
B10-11-2019 €  3.100,00MediorIN
C8-8-2019 €  2.750,00JuniorIN
D5-6-2019 €  2.750,00JuniorIN

I have a separate calendar table.

I need the following information for a yearly report (with a slicer):

• How many people have had a raise 
  • The percentual change in salary per person that had a raise
  • How many people were promoted
  • The current ... of everyone (I need these values in another table, but also per year)
    • Salary
    • Career
    • Status 

I think for every question, I need to look down in this order (I hope my notation makes sense):

1. Name = CurrentName
  2. Date < CurrentDate

And do things with measures, CALCULATE and FILTER. I have tried so many things, but I get errors all the time and I do not have a feeling yet for these things. I have already looked at posts like this one https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Year-over-Year-salary-increase-for-each-employee/td-p/35398... but this example has regular intervals and doesn't have empty value. 

Please tell me if my information is unclear or when you need more information. If you can help me with one question I am already really thankful!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support