Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

sprbr0353
Frequent Visitor

How to plot a variable vs. date?

Hello, 
I am pretty new to powerBI, and I encountered a problem with plotting using the line chart. I have a dataset of time and another numeric variables. The time variable is on hourly basis and data looks like 2006-11-01 1:00:00 AM, 2006-11-01 2:00:00 AM, and so on for several years. After importing the data set, the time variable is recognized as Date/Time. My other numeric variable is in Decimal format.

However, when it goes for plotting using line chart, I cannot figure it out how to plot the numeric variable over years and in hourly basis. I am looking to have a chart like the attachment.
time.PNG

The problems I have: 1. The Time vatibale is not broken down into hours in date hierarchy

Capture.PNG

2. it only counts, sum, average, etc. but not the numeric value of the parameter on the plot.

Capture2.PNG

and, I already read a lot of topics on the forum and tries many of them but none of them worked for me. I have changed the numeric variable to "Don't summarized", and the data type for that is "decimal number".

1 REPLY 1
v-yilong-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @sprbr0353 ,

In response to your question, here are my thoughts.

In the Data pane, expand your dataset and select the checkbox next to your time variable (which is recognized as Date/Time).Then expand the Date field and select the checkbox next to Hour.This will create a hierarchy where your time variable is broken down into hours. You can read this topic for the further study: How to add Hours to Date Hierarchy in Power BI - Microsoft Fabric Community