Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

RocketPowerBI19

How Do I Add New Years of Budget to Dashboard Using Combo SharePoint List and Excel Document?

I am an amateur in desperate need of help and not sure how to describe my issue. I built a Reward Program tool a year ago. The program was supposed to only last a year but it was so popular they want to continue it indefinitely. But here's my problem. I built the Power BI dashboard not thinking it would last more than a year now I don't know how to add new years of budget.

It works like this:

1) User utilizes a Power App application to nominate a coworker for a reward

2) That nomination gets entered into a SharePoint list

3) The SharePoint list feeds a Power BI dashboard

The Power BI dashboard looks at the SharePoint list source for the nominations. However, the budget totals per leader are in the Excel document. Here's an example of what the Excel document looks like:

ExcelExample.png

You'll notice that the budget is broken down into Budget, Holdbacks and combos of those. In the Dashboard, to make it easier on me, I simply made the same dashboard 3 times and split it out into tabs. So if a leader wanted to see how much they've spent towards the Budger or towards their Budget + Holdback, they'd click on the related tab:

Tabs.jpg

The dashboard looks at the Excel document and SharePoint list and allows a user to select the leader and the month to see how much of the budget is left over:

Dashboard.jpg