Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

brux2dc

Generate dynamic rolling 365 day Calendar with Names pulled from another table

I'm new with Power Bi and Power Query.

I'm trying to generate a dynamic calendar table which has a Start and End date column one day apart for every person in a names table over the span of a year.

To clarify, I have a table with Employee names and need to generate a seperate table with daily date spans for each person in the names table.

Start     End       Name

1/1/19  1/2/19  Bob

1/2/19  1/3/19  Bob

1/3/19  1/4/19  Bob

1/1/19  1/2/19  Sarah

1/2/19  1/3/19  Sarah

1/3/19  1/4/19  Sarah

I've figured out how to generate the dates for a year, but can't seem to perform a loop where each person from the employee names table gets attached to each generated date pair in it's own name column.

I'm aware this will generate a table with x*365 rows.  In my case ~200*365.

Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
brux2dc

Wow that was fast!

My version of Power BI Desktop is older than the attached file, so won't open it.  I can't update the version of Power BI, and my organization won't either for many months.  Policy is basicly to be a few versions behind.  

Could you post the code here??

Thanks!

Mariusz
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @brux2dc 

Please see the below.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMjDUByIjA0NLJR0wxwjGccpPUorViUYVBHGMsakwRlZhgk0FdluCE4sSMwjYg6oGu01QNbEA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Start = _t, End = _t, Name = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Start", type date}, {"End", type date}, {"Name", type text}}),