Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

RajP
Frequent Visitor

Elapsed Time

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Power BI, and i'm trying to calculate the elapsed time between when the call comes in to the current time / time responded, taking into account business hours and weekends. 

For example, call comes in today at 11am and at 3.30pm the same day the elapse time would be 4 hours 30 minutes, but if a call comes in at 4pm on Friday and is responded 10am on Monday morning, the elaspe time would be 2 hours, based on a 9-5 day. 

Is anyone able to help please?

9 REPLIES 9
v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @RajP  ,

If you want to get now, you can directly change the time column to this form:

TIME =
IF(
    [Desp. Da]=BLANK(),BLANK(),
IF(
WEEKDAY([Call Date])=4&&WEEKDAY([Take Date])=7&&WEEKNUM([Call Date])=WEEKNUM([Take Date]),TIME(2,0,0),NOW()-[Call Time]))

Compare the calculated time with your index

v-yangliu-msft_0-1619684151951.png

Best Regards,

Liu Yang

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @RajP  ,

Here are the steps you can follow:

1. Create calculated column.

Take Time =
IF(
[Fin. Dat]=BLANK(),IF([Arrival]=BLANK(),[Desp.],[Arr.]),[Fin.])
Take Time =
IF(
[Fin. Dat]=BLANK(),IF([Arrival]=BLANK(),[Desp.],[Arr.]),[Fin.])
TIME =
IF(
    [Desp. Da]=BLANK(),BLANK(),
IF(
WEEKDAY([Call Date])=4&&WEEKDAY([Take Date])=7&&WEEKNUM([Call Date])=WEEKNUM([Take Date]),TIME(2,0,0),[Take Time]-[Call Time]))

2. Result.

v-yangliu-msft_0-1619507713308.png

Best Regards,

Liu Yang

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.