Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Date Table - Years and Months Only

Hi,

Do I need a date table if all of my data only contains a month and a year, but not a date?

I'm new to Power BI and I understand that creating a date table is one of the first things you should do, but the data I'm working with is by month and year, (example: January 2020, February 2019, etc.) not by a particular date (example: 01/05/2021). My year range is 2013-2019.

My data is like this across different tables. I've shown examples of what my tables look like below. All of the data isn't real, but the column headings represent what my tables look like.

I'm working on a turnover/attrition dashboard for our HR department. The data has already been aggregated into this format in Excel so I don't even know if I would have access to individual dates for this.

Attrition Overview

YearMonthQuarterTotal AttritionVoluntaryInvoluntaryHeadcountAttrition Rate
2013August350252540012.5%

Reason for Leaving

YearNumber of Employees Who LeftPercentageReason
201322%Personal Reason
201466%Health Reasons

Attrition by department

YearNumber of Employees Who Left in DepartmentPercentageHeadcount by DeptDepartment
201311%10Human Resources
20141010%30Sales

Attrition by Tenure

YearNumber of EmployeesPercentageTenure Category
20132020%Less than 1 year
   1-3 years
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-stephen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

This article explains why you need to create a calendar and the requirements of creating a calendar.

If there is no date column for year, month, and day in your original data, you don't need to create a calendar.

Best Regards,

Stephen Tao

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.