Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Data Refresh

Hello all,

I am new to Power BI and I'm trying to better understand how the data refresh function works. I am currently working on a report that shows the stock inventory history. I want my report to refresh every day so that the data and information is always up to date. 

My data source includes a CSV file that I manually export to my computer and manually import into Power BI. To get up to date information on the stock inventory, I have to manually export the CSV file everyday. This file does not update on its own. 

The only way I can think of doing this, is manually exporting the CSV file and then changing the name of the file every time. 

I've watched some tutorial videos, and they mention using a gateway connection and so on. But again, I'm new to Power BI and I'm just not sure how that is possible, when the file containing the stock inventory data isn't created until an export is made. (I hope this makes sense)

Is a scheduled data resfresh even possible, since everything is being done manually?

9 REPLIES 9
ray_aramburo
Super User
Super User

There are 2 stages of refresh as I see it:

1) If you are working locally (this means only through Power BI Desktop) no matter how times your data source is refreshed you'll always need to manually refresh from Power BI Desktop to get the latest data.

2) If/When you publish your report to the Power BI Service, you can enable a scheduled refresh. Since you are working with csv files, I would recommend you to host them in a OneDrive/SharePoint/Cloud location so you can avoid using any gateway and then use the SharePoint folder or Web connection to access them.