Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

FMPE
Frequent Visitor

Creating relationships between tables that contain duplicate values

Hi!

First of all, I'm fairly new to Power BI, so if I've got a concept completely wrong, or I'm approaching something in a silly way, please do let me know - I'm trying to learn!

So I've got 4 tables; the first two them are "raw" data I am sent once a month, and the last two are tables I've created for the report:

• Table 1 - "Master": a list of incidents with that caused some machine to fail, including a number of details including the machine ID (a unique identifier), the Type (which type of machine it is) and the dates for both the occurence of the incident and when it was fixed.
  • Table 2 - "Machine data": a list comprised of information about a given machine and whether or not is it in use. This list is formatted in such a way so that every month, data for every active machine is appended, e.g. the name, the date of the month for which it has been active and a few other details.
  • Table 3 - "Active machine data":  basically a slice of table 1 including just the last month, to have a table that includes just the machines that are currently active. I created this table to have a table with unique IDs as to create a relationship with the Master table (Table 1) from which I can easilly do analysis.
  • Table 4 - "Calendar table": Fairly self-explanatory - a calendar table connected up with the Master table to perform slicing, etc.