Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

mur2za
Frequent Visitor

Creating a rolling 6 week date range for use in graphs

Hello all, I am a noob to Power BI, so I apologize if this has been covered to death...

I have a Sales table with daily sales data. I have a separate Calendar table and created a relationship to the SalesDate column in my Sales table.  

I need to create a graph showing sales trend for the last 6 weeks of sales. Currently, I have created a calculated column WeekEnding in the Calendar table that groups dates by Week, and used WeekEnding as my time axis, with a report level filter where I select only the last 6 weeks to show the trend. However, this is cumbersome having to go in every week and change selections, then repin the graph to the dashboard.

To automate the process, I created the following measures:

Now = today()

6WeeksBack = today()-42

Last6Weeks = datesbetween(Calendar[DateKey], Calendar[6WeeksBack], Calendar[Now])

However, a measure cannot be used as the time axis in the graph.

So I tried to create Last6Weeks as a calculated column instead, and I get the error "A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected."

What am I doing wrong?? And is there an easier way to just pluck out the last 6 weeks of data to show in the graph?

Thanks!

Mur2za.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
GilesWalker
Skilled Sharer
Skilled Sharer

@mur2za instead of putting the measures you used into the graph, use them in either the page level filter or the graph visual filter. Then for your axis put in a date column. The measures should filter the axis to what you want.

The other option is to create a custom column as follows:

Last 42 days = IF(AND(DateKey[Date]>=[Today]-42,DateKey[Date]<=[Today]),1,0)

[Today] is a measure : Today = DATE(YEAR(NOW()),MONTH(NOW()),DAY(NOW()))