Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Create Slicer based on four fields.

I am new to BI and was hoping someone could provide a solution to the following:

I have a dataset that includes thousands and thousands of rows of order level detail. Within this data I have information such as Products, Location, COGS, etc. Outside of this, I have four different pricing schedules (ABCD) that I have been able to add into this dataset as new columns based on Product and Location relationship. I am attempting to analyze the profitability of each schedule. Ideally I'd like to create a slicer that allows me to select A, B, C, D and my visuals adjust accordingly. With the way I have the table set up now, I would have to create these visuals on four different pages.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

2 REPLIES 2
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@Anonymous

According to your description, I assume you have a table as below.

39.png

You can create a new table which includes a column for pricing schedules selection. Then you can get the expected result by create one measure. Please refer to following steps.

1. Create a new table for pricing schedules selection
    40.png
  2. Create a measure to calculate the profitability according to the slicer selection.
    Profitability = 
    IF (
        HASONEVALUE ( Schedules[Schedules] ),
        SWITCH (
            VALUES ( Schedules[Schedules] ),
            "A", SUM ( Price[Pricing Schedules A] ) - SUM ( Price[COGS] ),
            "B", SUM ( Price[Pricing Schedules B] ) - SUM ( Price[COGS] ),
            "C", SUM ( Price[Pricing Schedules C] ) - SUM ( Price[COGS] ),
            "D", SUM ( Price[Pricing Schedules D] ) - SUM ( Price[COGS] )
        ),
        BLANK ()
    )

41.png
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion