Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yamshay
Frequent Visitor

Connection to Azure DevOps Error

When trying to connect to Azure DevOps, I am receiving an "Access to the resource is forbidden" error. I am an Administrator for the Team Project I am attempting to connect to. I also checked with another administrator for this Team Project and on a screen share, was able to see them successfully connect to the project using the same connection strings I am using. 

I have checked Microsoft documentation on this issue and the only suggestion I've seen is to ensure that "View Analytics" is enabled within my DevOps permissions and I have verified that is enabled. I'm not sure what else I can do. I have cleared my Power BI desktop credentials/permissions cache multiple times and I've deleted the connection within my global permissions multiple times as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Yamshay
Frequent Visitor

Reading more about this, it seems it could be due to a Stakeholder/Basic access level difference? I am not sure how to check my account's access level to see.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
akashc234

Changing the access level of the user from stakeholder to Basic seems to work for me. Try this if other options fail. 

Guide to change the access level : Change user access from Stakeholder to Basic | Azure DevOps (azuredevopsguide.com)

Yamshay
Frequent Visitor

Reading more about this, it seems it could be due to a Stakeholder/Basic access level difference? I am not sure how to check my account's access level to see.

To anyone that might stumble onto this thread, this was the issue. Even though I was admin in the group, I needed the basic license type, rather than stakeholder.

sevenhills
Super User
Super User