Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

tjshaf13
Frequent Visitor

Calculating Operating Cost of Equipment

I am trying to calculate the total operational cost for individual pieces of equipment.

I have the cost/hour for each piece of equipment and the number of hours each piece of equipment has operated/day. 

This information is coming from two different data sets, but is associated via the "Equipment Number" field. 

I know is a simple matter of multiplication, but I can't get a measure to work. I am relatively new to Powerbi so there is probably something obvious that I am missing. Thanks for you help in advance

Here are pictures of my data sets

Daily Operating HoursDaily Operating HoursOperating Cost/hourOperating Cost/hour

3 REPLIES 3
v-yiruan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @tjshaf13 ,

First, please make sure there is one relationship based on equipment number be created between these two tables. Then create a measure as below to get the operation cost of per equipment.

Operating Cost of Equipment = var _cEquip=max('Operating Costs'[Equipment Number])
var _totalHour=CALCULATE(SUM('Daily Operating Hours'[TotalHoursCrushing]),FILTER('Daily Operating Hours','Daily Operating Hours'[EquipmentNumber]=_cEquip))
var _cost=CALCULATE(MAX('Operating Costs'[Cost]),FILTER('Operating Costs','Operating Costs'[Equipment Number]=_cEquip))
return _totalHour*_cost

Calculating Operating Cost of Equipment.JPG

Best Regards

Rena

Community Support Team _ Rena
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,