Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Append

Hi All,

I have a table and I need to append an excel file to it.

I do not want to import the data and then append. Instead, I want the excel file to be appended directly to the table.

Is that possible?

I am new to powerBI, any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey @Anonymous ,

sure. In Power Query click on the Query of the Excel that you don't want to load to the data model and unselect "Enable load":

selimovd_0-1629361521301.png

Afterwards the Excel will still be refreshed and used for the other table, but this specific table from the Excel file will not appear in the Data Model.

If you need any help please let me know.
If I answered your question I would be happy if you could mark my post as a solution ✔️ and give it a thumbs up 👍

Best regards
Denis

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-yetao1-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

There are three commonly used import modes : Import , Direct Query , Live Connection . Different data sources support different loading modes . The default loading mode of some local files(Excel, Text…) is Import .

So if you don’t want load data to Desktop ,you need append your data in your data sources not in Desktop .In this case, you can choose some databases as your data sources , like :SQL ,MySQL , Oracle Database and so on .

I have an article that specifically introduces the import modes of different data sources and the differences between different modes. You can refer to the link below .

https://radacad.com/directquery-live-connection-or-import-data-tough-decision

Back to your problem , if you append an excel file to your table in Desktop ,you must import the data in Desktop and then append .