Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

jojo6x
Regular Visitor

Adding date column messed up my count

EDIT:

I am very new to Power BI and am not a professional coder, so please go easy on me... I have a table visual that lists all procedures performed by my surgeons. I created a slicer with their names so you can choose one of the surgeons and it will give you a count of each type of surgery done by that person. I created a measure using the code below to achieve this. It worked flawlessly until I added the date field so I could also slice by a date range. Now it just gives me a count of each type of procedure performed on individual days. I don't really understand why it is considering the date when calculating since the code doesn't even use the date column. It seems like i need it to not consider the date when counting, but i am not sure if that is the issue and if it is, i don't know how to fix it. 

Total-ResidentSurgeon = SUMX(VALUES(rv_resident_surgeon_experience[cpt_code]), CALCULATE(COUNT(rv_resident_surgeon_experience[resident_surgeon])))

6 REPLIES 6
parry2k
Super User
Super User

You have to be very specific about how you want to visualize and the measure will be done accordingly. If you are adding the date in the visual, now distinct count will be calculated based on the row context. These are the basics of the DAX - row context get transition to filter context.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo