Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Frequent Visitor

Slicer with overlapping values

Hi

A newbie here. I've tried searching in the forum without luck. I'm looking to apply filter on a set of values where some of the rows may belong to mulitple categories. For example:

ItemNameCategory
AppleFruit
PotatoVegetable
Tomato

Both

I want to add a filter(slicer) on Category, but it should only show Fruit & Vegetable as the filter catogires. When selecting fruit, both tomato & apple should be returned, and similarly both tomato & potato when filtered on vegetable. Trying to create a new measure as the filter without luck. Can you pls help? Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yanjiang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @047 ,

If your sample cannot make relationship, you can try this method.

1.Create a table with all categories, donn't make relationship between the two tables.

vkalyjmsft_0-1648007016745.png

2. Create a measure.

Check =
IF (
    NOT ( ISFILTERED ( 'Table (2)'[Category] ) ),
    IF (
        ISFILTERED ( 'Table (2)'[Category] )
            && (
                MAX ( 'Table'[Category] ) = SELECTEDVALUE ( 'Table (2)'[Category] )
                    || MAX ( 'Table'[Category] ) = "Both"
            ),
    )
)

3.Put the new category table in the slicer, and put the measure in the ItemName visual filter, select the value is 1.

Get the correct result.

vkalyjmsft_1-1648007176613.png

I attach my sample below for reference.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ kalyj

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-yanjiang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @047 ,

If your sample cannot make relationship, you can try this method.