Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bignadad
Helper I
Helper I

SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR not returning correct values with fiscal year

My fiscal year is April-March

I have the Fiscal Year setup correctly in my MasterDate table.

I have a Fiscal Year Text that I use for my Slicer and a Fiscal Year Sort to sort properly.

All that is working fine.

bignadad_0-1706295041965.png

This is my measure to get my total amount

Total = CALCULATE(SUM(glentry[amount])*-1)

I have my Slicer filtering for FY23/24 and my total is correct
bignadad_2-1706295199958.png

My LY measure is not correct. Here is the measure.

LY Sales = CALCULATE(glentry[Total], SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(MasterDate[Dates].[Date]))

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
9 REPLIES 9
bignadad
Helper I
Helper I

I am pretty new to power bi and not sure how to create the pbix file with sample data. Right now all my data is set up is on dataflows. how can I get them to local sample data?

Please provide sample data that covers your issue or question completely, in a usable format (not as a screenshot).

Do not include sensitive information or anything not related to the issue or question.

If you are unsure how to upload data please refer to https://community.fabric.microsoft.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-provide-sample-data-in-the-Power-BI-...

Please show the expected outcome based on the sample data you provided.

Want faster answers? https://community.fabric.microsoft.com/t5/Desktop/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/m-p/1447...

lbendlin
Super User
Super User

How do you know it is not correct?

@lbendlin my assumption about SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR is that the fiscal year starts in April, and traditional time intelligence functions often align with the calendar year.