Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

m_wex
Helper I
Helper I

Hitting a Roadblock

Good evening. I am relatively new to PowerBi and have hit a roadblock and hoping for some help from the community. There is a table for the invoiced sales which is linked to a table containing the commodity, group, and sub-group fields. The link is through the part number which is unique.

I created a ranking table so I can display, using a checkbox selection on the page, to display sales results for the: Top5, Top 10, Top 25, and All Others. This was created using the following DAX.

Total Product Category by Rank =

VAR

RankingDimesion=Values('Product Category (2)'[Product Category] )

Var

RankingSelect = [Ranking Select]

Return

CALCULATE([Total Sales],

Filter( RankingDimesion,

RankX(all('Product Category (2)'[Product Category] ), [Total Sales], ,desc ) <= RankingSelect))

Supporting tables: 

Product Category (2)'[Product Category] – This is where product categories, groups, and sub-groups are stored. For each part number there is a category, group, and sub-group. 

Invoiced sales - This is where invoiced turnover by part number in stored. 

[Total Sales} – Is a basic calculation: Total Sales = sum(Sales[invoiced turnover])

The above DAX  works correctly, and sales results are ranked sales are filtered for the for the Product Category. The issue and what I need help with is that once the main selection (categories) is filtered, I wanted two supporting graphs for groups and sub-groups filtered based on the category results. If top 5 sales by category is selected, then only sales associated with the top 5 categories should be displayed for the for groups and sub-groups. Only the category is filtered by top 5,10, 25, etc. Each part number has only one category, group, and sub-groups.