Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

eliasayy
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Find The Last Rate at the end of each day

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to powerbi and the dat analysis world. I was asked to create a graph that shows  the final rate by the end of each day. The table has a date column and rate column and a date/time column, every 5 minutes i have a different rate. My objective is to find the latest rate at the end of the day. Example in 4/20/2022, i have multiple rates 0.003 at 1 pm 0.005 at 5 pm and 0.008 at 11 pm. i want only the last value which is 0.008 to show on the graph and so on for the other days. please help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, @eliasayy 

Please try the following formula:

Last Rate of each day =
VAR lastdatetime =
    CALCULATE ( MAX ( 'Table'[Datetime] ), ALLEXCEPT ( 'Table', 'Table'[Date] ) )
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        MAX ( 'Table'[Rate] ),
        FILTER ( 'Table', 'Table'[Datetime] = lastdatetime )
    )

1.png

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Eason

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Whitewater100
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi:

If you don't have a separate table, it would be a great idea to have one. This Date Table would connect to your Fact Table on a date filed in a one to many relationship. (Measure at end)

Here is a Date Table you can use by choosing new Table and using this DAX>

DATES =

GENERATE (

CALENDAR( DATE( YEAR( TODAY() ) - 2, MONTH( TODAY() ), DAY( TODAY()) ), TODAY()),

VAR startOfWeek = 1 // Where 1 is Sunday and 7 is Saturday, thus a 3 would be Tuesday   

VAR currentDay = [Date]

VAR days = DAY( currentDay )

VAR months = MONTH ( currentDay )

VAR years = YEAR ( currentDay )

VAR nowYear = YEAR( TODAY() )

VAR nowMonth = MONTH( TODAY() )

VAR dayIndex = DATEDIFF( currentDay, TODAY(), DAY) * -1