Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

zawlh
Helper I
Helper I

Calculate % change from previous column

Hello everyone, I am new to Power BI. We used Postgres data from our chatbot system. image.png

So this is our chatbot result. I would like to calculate % change with line value showing how many % of user drop/jump in each day.
Can anyone help with me.
Database is like that
Screenshot (17).png

12 REPLIES 12
az38
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @zawlh 

please, provide your desired output more accurace.

what is "how many % of user drop/jump in each day" ?

what is the total users? total by day, total cummulative or smth? How exactly calculate it? maybe you can display an example

where is users field in your data model?

do not hesitate to give a kudo to useful posts and mark solutions as solution

LinkedIn

@az38  the number is the distinctcount of messengerID. I want percent difference from previous column(column from chart). (For eg. 38% drop from day01-begin to day01-end (assuming day01-begin is 100%). Could you solve it ?

az38
Community Champion
Community Champion

@zawlh 

its still not almost clear but try to create a measure like

Measure = 
var _prevDayNumberStart = CALCULATE(MAX('Table'[Day Number]), FILTER(ALL('Table'), 'Table'[timestamp] < SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[timestamp]) && CONTAINSSTRING('Table'[Day Number],"begin"))
var _prevDayTimestamp = CALCULATE(MAX('Table'[timestamp]), 'Table'[Day Number]=_prevDayNumberStart)

RETURN
DIVIDE( CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT('Table'[messenger_id]), FILTER(ALL('Table'), 'Table'[timestamp] < SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[timestamp])), CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT('Table'[messenger_id]), FILTER(ALL('Table'), 'Table'[timestamp] < _prevDayTimestamp) )

not sure, it will work, need to check 

LinkedIn

@az38  I will show you database