Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

RobSym87

Show gauge chart data as percentage of average

I have a report that is pulling data from a spreadsheet column, the minimum value in the total column is 0 and the maximum is 60. I want to display the average score on a gauge chart as a percentage however I am only able to get the percentage to display as the grand total (in the thousands). 

For example:

The value for "subcontractor total rating" is set to "average of total" = 40 (out of 60). I want the gauge chart to display 66.6%

Screenshot 2024-01-26 164836.png

I'm very new to PowerBi and self taught and sadly don't know how to achieve this. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-binbinyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @RobSym87 ,

Please try below steps:

1. Calculate the Average Score as a Measure:  You need to create a measure to calculate the average of the total rating. You can do this using the DAX formula provided:

AverageScore = AVERAGE(YourTable[TotalRating])

2. Convert the Average Score to a Percentage: Next, create another measure to convert the average score to a percentage of the maximum score (which is 60 in your case):

AveragePercentage = DIVIDE([AverageScore], 60, 0) * 100

This measure divides the average score by the maximum score and then multiplies by 100 to get a percentage.

3. Create a Gauge Chart: Follow these steps to set up your gauge chart:
- In Power BI Desktop, click on the "Visualizations" pane.
- Select the "Gauge" icon to create a new gauge chart on your report canvas.
- Drag the `AveragePercentage` measure created in step 2 to the 'Value' field of the gauge chart.

4. Set Minimum and Maximum Values for the Gauge Chart:
- Set the minimum value to 0.
- Set the maximum value to 100 (as we are dealing with percentages).

5. Format the Gauge Chart: