Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Kengaroo
Regular Visitor

Seeking Guidance on Power BI Dashboard Development and Distribution for a Multi-Customer Environment

I am a Software Developer at a company with a clientele of over 100 customers, many of whom operate multiple databases across various regions. My current responsibility involves the initial development of a Power BI Dashboard, intended for customer access. This Dashboard will feature a range of reports focused on sales and inventory metrics.

The challenge I'm facing is not in the creation or publication of the reports/dashboard within a personal or Organizational workspace. Instead, my query revolves around the optimal method for distributing this dashboard to our extensive customer base.

Our Objective:

• Development of a centralized Power BI Dashboard incorporating multiple reports.
  • Distribution of this dashboard to over 100 customers, likely through a published App.
  • Data for these reports will be sourced from SQL Server (version 2016 or later). We are preparing a server view to consolidate databases from each customer. These databases share an identical schema, differing primarily in regional data.
  • Our intention is to provide customers with a self-service model where they can connect their data sources to the dashboard or app without granting us access to their data.
  • We aim for seamless update capabilities, allowing any modifications to the dashboard to reflect automatically for all customers. Custom dashboard requests will be addressed separately.

Challenges:

• The intricacies of App publishing and distribution are where my uncertainties lie. Options like Marketplace publishing, hosting in a Workspace with customer access, or distribution through a SharePoint site are being considered.