Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

jbach
Frequent Visitor

Power Bi - Prerequisites to publish to web

I've been trying out power Bi Desktop and I'm now interested in purchasing the pro version so that I may share and embed my dashboard online (publicly)

From what I gather, you need a company email in order to purchase and register and you need your admin to allow data to the published to the web.

I'm completely new to this, so can someone just list out the whole process of what an individual user who has no work/student email needs to purchase/register to be able to publish to the web?

Do I need to purchase my own domain in addition to having an Office 365?

Can I just purchase an Office 365 e3 together with a power BI pro license, register with a custom email/domain and then make myself an admin and publish dashboard to the web (public)? Apologies if I am not asking at the right place....

Thanks

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Burningsuit
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

HI @jbach 

This document gives step-by step details for signing up to Power BI without a corporate email.

Sign up or purchase the Power BI service as an individual - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

If you haven't got a work email address, this documents (referenced from the one above) gives details about getting a Trial Office 365 licence.

Signing up for Power BI with a new Microsoft 365 Trial - Power BI | Microsoft Docs

this is also covered in a "Guy In A Cube" Video:

(31) Let's fix signing up for Power BI without a work email - YouTube

Note that if all you want to do is Publish your Report to the Web, you don't need a Pro licence, this can be done with a Free licence. The licence scenarios are gone through in the first document above.

Hope this helps

Stuart

View solution in original post

Dear @jbach ,