Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

fcam123

How to replace report created on Service with "save as copy"

Hi everyone,

I have a report on the service for which I created several copies on there with the option Edit -> Save as copy. This is because I have a master report and then I needed several different versions with very small changes (new filters, certain pages hidden, certain hidden pages shown). I did it this way to make sure the reports share the same dataset. However, now I have had to make some important changes in visualizations and the dataset in the master report which I've published to the service with no issues. The problem arises when I want to update the copy reports (which do have the dataset changes but do not have the visual changes), because if I Edit -> Save as copy the master report, even when I name it exactly the same as one of the copies, it just creates a new copy report with the same name. I tried downloading the copy report and making the changes on Desktop, but when I try to publish -after PBI prompts whether I want to replace the report and I accept- it gives me an error saying "There is an existing report/dataset with the same name. Please delete or rename the existing dataset and retry" which is strange because that's the whole point of replacing the report. 
I really need the copy reports to keep their links and access because they are published embedded in different websites and I can't go through each of them and update them all. And making the changes on the visuals directly on the service for the copy reports would be a nightmare since you can't copy/paste visuals across different reports on there.

So how can I replace reports that were created on the service with the "save a copy" option?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User