Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

HarmVanG
Helper I
Helper I

salesforce credentials in Power Bi

Hi there,

I'm currently running a pilot for my company using Power Bi as a reporting tool for Salesforce. I'm pretty new to this and I've got a few questions:

Is there a way to get Salesforce credentials linked to my Power Bi reports/data? I know that Rule Level Security (RLS) is an option, but I'd rather not use it, due to the fact that I'd be setting up security rules in two different applications which makes it not easy to manage security options.

At first I'll be setting up some initial reports for the business, however in the future we're intending to make Power Bi Self Service. I've got full access to all the data in Salesforce but what I'm wondering is when for example a regional manager logs connects to Salesforce via Power Bi, will he only be able to import his own data, or will he be able to import the entire dataset of the objects that he has access to? I'm guessing it's the first but I'd like to know for sure.

If someone could answer these questions, It would help me out a lot!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @HarmVanG,

If each user retrieves data by connecting to Salesforce content pack using his/her own Salesforce.com account, the user will pull in the data to which he has access as smoupre's post.

However, if you set up Salesforce reports using your own Salesforce.com credential in Power BI, and share the reports to other users, you will need to use Row Level Security(RLS) to restrict data access for these users.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee