Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

SP3007
Frequent Visitor

Power Query Lookup to another table

Hello, I need some help please!

I need to add a new column to my table. It needs to bring back a value by looking up a column against another table.

ie - column it needs to look upto is: CCA1

The other table with CCA1 is called - Helper_CCA1_Service and the column it needs to bring back is OrgStructServiceID

Im not very technical at all - and was given this code to use - but it just keeps bringing back an error:

= Table.AddColumn(#"5 - Added CCA1 Column", "OrgStructServiceID", each (let CCA1 = [CCA1] in Table.SelectRows(Helper_CCA1_Service, each [CCA1] = CCA1)){0}[OrgStructServID], type number)

SP3007_1-1699527366694.png

Can anyone please help why it keeps coming back with error?

Thanks,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xinruzhu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @SP3007 

You can change the code to the following.

= Table.AddColumn(#"5 - Added CCA1 Column", "OrgStructServiceID", each List.Min(Table.SelectRows(Helper_CCA1_Service,(x)=>x[CCA1]=[CCA1])[OrgStructServID]))

Best Regards!

Yolo Zhu

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-xinruzhu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @SP3007 

You can change the code to the following.

= Table.AddColumn(#"5 - Added CCA1 Column", "OrgStructServiceID", each List.Min(Table.SelectRows(Helper_CCA1_Service,(x)=>x[CCA1]=[CCA1])[OrgStructServID]))

Best Regards!

Yolo Zhu

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Thanks for this...its now coming back as null rather than error so one step closer!

Hi @SP3007