Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

KeyserSoze33

Passing multiple values in excel table as parameters into query

Hello,

I am building a workbook for our accounting team that queries the database and returns a table from which several analytics are performed. I have previously made it so that a user can input a year and an asset id into a table, refresh, and the appropriate data is returned. I now am trying to modify it so that multiple asset ids can be fed into the query to return regional or market data.

Before, I created a table  and built a function from it (using some tutorial I found as I'm pretty new to using power query):
ParameterValue

Year2023
Asset2901

and the funciton:
(ParameterName as text) =>
let
ParamSource = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Parameters"]}[Content],
ParamRow = Table.SelectRows(ParamSource, each ([Parameter] = ParameterName)),
Value=
if Table.IsEmpty(ParamRow)=true
then null
else Record.Field(ParamRow{0},"Value")
in
Value

Within the query here's how it's defined:

let
Year = fnGetParameter("Year"),
Asset = fnGetParameter("Asset"),

dbQuery = "

DECLARE @PeriodYear nvarchar(4)
SET @PeriodYear = "&Year&"
DECLARE @Company nvarchar(5)
SET @Company = "&Asset&"

Source = Sql.Database("...", "...",[Query=dbQuery])
in
Source

First thing I tried was just adding another row to the parameter table with the same "Asset" name with a different value and then modifying the query to better accept multiple value (assuming more than one was being passed through in the first place). in the end, it didn't work and here I am. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
rubayatyasmin
Super User
Super User

Hi, @KeyserSoze33