Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Nial
Regular Visitor

I need to automate a monthly report currently done manually.

Hi,

I am a beginner using power query so will not be comfortable using M.

I need to compare the latest report say October, with September's, next month November with October and so on. It needs to flag status changes in records as well as new records. These reports are not financial.

Currently it is done manually in Power Query, I want to be able to set up a master report that can just be refreshed monthly. The source reports are held in a folder and and have the month name in the title. I cannot see how to get power query to run automatically if the source files have different names each month. Any help or pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Nial

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Nial , To automate the selection on the last two months, you could either set up parameters, or filter for rows based on the created date, or the modified date depending on your business process.  Pictures below. The UI is so amazing for Power Query and so many things you can do.param2.PNGparam.PNG

If you would share your pbix, or dummy up some values in Excel both for current and expected data. Please copy and paste them into your post, rather than doing a picture, we may be able to help you. 

Please read this post to get your question answered more quickly:

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/How-to-Get-Your-Question-Answered-Quickly/ba-p/38490

Let me know if you have any questions.

If this solves your issues, please mark it as the solution, so that others can find it easily. Kudos 👍are nice too.
Nathaniel

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Nathaniel_C
Super User
Super User

Hi @Nial ,