Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Possibilitis
Frequent Visitor

How to get Max date for each group of data for each fiscal year using Power Query ( M )

Hi folks, 

I am quite new to powerQuery, and I would appreciate your assistance. 

I have a table with data from different fiscal year, including the fiscal year - which is not at its end. 

I would like to get the maxdate, at any time, for each fiscal year, using data for each fiscal year. For instance, If today is January 20, then, for this fiscal year, the max date would be 2024-01-20, for fiscal year 2024.  The max date for fiscal year would be whatever last run date for fiscal year 2023. Assuming reg calendar, I can assume it is 2023-12-31. 

The following is the DAX code that works.

MaxDate =

'Table_Name'[Report Run Date] = CALCULATE(MAX('Table_Name'[Report Run Date]),ALLEXCEPT('Table_Name','Table_Name'[Fiscal year]))

I tried the following code -which gives me the table with the max date. The problem is, when I try to load, it adds more data and I don't know why. For instance, if, I have 10 rows in the data, it will load 1000 rows. I don't understand where the other rows come from. 

let
Source = #”Source”,
    // Group by 'Fiscal year' and calculate the maximum 'Report Run Date' within each group
   GroupedTable = Table.Group(Source, {"Fiscal year"}, {{"MaxDate", each List.Max([Report Run Date]), type datetime}}),

// Merge the calculated maximum date back to the original table
    MergedTable = Table.Join(Source, "Fiscal year", GroupedTable, "Fiscal year"),

// Extract the 'MaxDate' column from the merged table
    ResultTable = Table.SelectColumns(MergedTable, {"MaxDate"})
in
    ResultTable