Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Let-Me-Know
Frequent Visitor

Formatting Column with data of various types to be countable in visualizations

Hi everyone, I am quite new to Power BI and would appreciate your help!

I have problem with transforming data type in specific column in Power Query Editor. Source for the data is Excel table and the specific column “Transaction ID” contains combined data types, for example:

Transaction ID:

• HR01012023
  • 01AA012023
  • Etc.

All of the values are proper and I need them all as they are. Also, later in visualizations I need them to be countable, so that I can count or sum up transactions per month or year etc. In Excel table (source), number format is set on “General”. Once I load it in Power BI, Editor automatically defines the format type for that column as number and therefore Error message appears saying that values cannot be converted to number.

I have tried formatting them in Excel source as text, however that way I can’t count or sum up those transactions in visualizations. I have also considered splitting them in separate columns in Excel by criteria of text and number, but I’m not sure if that would help (once I merge them together again), and also there is a problem with splitting all of them correctly since I don’t have unique pattern of value containing for example 2 letters and then 6 digits. If one of these would be efficient, I don't know the way to accomplish it correctly.

To summarize, how to format this column in Power Query Editor to be countable later in visualization?

Thank you in advance!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Let-Me-Know