Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

BeginnR

Trying to "secure" names of column-headers ...

Hello Everybody,

as I am new to this forum I'd like to introduce myself.

Twenty years ago (yes, I am above 50 ...), I was a developer und I used to code a lot with than C++, VB.net, ... so I am sort of familiar with Code-Structure. I thougt.

I am not that new to Power Query, using it here and there for about seven years for some simple tasks. A little bit of M is known to me but I am still a beginner. I have nothing but "ordinary" Power Query advanced editor in Excel, no Power BI Desktop, no Visual Studio.

Now I have the task to get data from files in a Folder (no problem so far), but people sending the data-files often change columen-headers by adding comments, hints, and so on.

Now I thougt why not trying to secure those entries by using a loop to compare a list of lists, containing a search-string and a name-string and then to rename the headers.

Thats my (not really working) code and I don't get my mistake(s):

let
Quelle = Folder.Files(Verzeichnispfad), // Verzeichnispfad is a parameter, containing the path

// Selecting the needed files

ExcelDateien=Table.SelectRows(Quelle, each [Extension] = ".xlsx" and not Text.StartsWith([Name], "~$") and Text.Contains([Name], "SearchString1")),

// Schleife durch alle Excel-Dateien im Verzeichnis
ErsetzteDateien = List.Transform(ExcelDateien[Content], each
let
// File-Loading
ExcelDatei = _,

// trying to extract date of deadline from file-name; not really working ...

Stichtag = Date.FromText(Text.BetweeenDelimiters(ExcelDatei[Name], "(Stichtag",")")),

// Loading the content
Inhalt = Excel.Workbook(ExcelDatei, true),

ErsteTabelle = Inhalt{[Item="Tabelle1", Kind="Table"]}[Data],