Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

SourabhSharma
Frequent Visitor

How to run python script.

HI All,

I am new to power bi.

I want to run python scripts in power bi.

I can see online there are tutorials in which they shows how to link to python script and all.

May i know if there is a way to run python script in power bi browser mode ? 

if yes can you please share any refference document that I can refer.

6 REPLIES 6
Chwayita-Momoza
Helper II
Helper II

When you publish a report to Power BI Service (browser mode), the Python scripts are not executed there. However, you can still utilize the Power BI Service to refresh and update data in the report, which may involve running the queries and transformations defined in Power BI Desktop, including those involving Python scripts.

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@SourabhSharma Not sure what you mean by "browser mode". If you are talking about running Python when in the Power BI Service then that should work. You can use Python in Power Query or use the Python visual to run Python. Both should work in the Service. Which one are you doing?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

HI @Greg_Deckler 

by browser i mean by using the link https://app.powerbi.com/

and I am not sure that you are also reffering to the same or not ?

if yes then where can I find the option that you mentioned.

Hi @SourabhSharma ,