Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

voldemortlucky

Developing a news dashboard from Google News

Hi all, so glad I found this helpful Reddit community! I hope someone can advise me on this.

Task: I’m a beginner building a financial crime news dashboard using Get Data / Web then inputting an URL from Google News. In my mind (for now), the dashboard would have multiple tabs each shows a list of news articles sorted by date with embedded hyperlink related to a topic (or search keyword). For example, a tab for “fraud” news, one for “money laundering” news, one for “insider trading” etc… I get data from using Get Data / Web and use this hyperlink https://news.google.com/rss/search?q=KEYWORDIWANT. I have largely followed this tutorial on Youtube

The list would just follows this format:

[Article 1’s title] - [Date Published] - [Link]

[Article 2’s title] - [Date Published] - [Link]

(so on)

Questions:

1. I noticed Google News doesn’t give many quality articles. Is it possible to pull my data and combine with other news agencies or website such as the Financial Times, WSJ, Bloomberg… If so how do I go about it?

2. I noticed using Google News, articles sorted by date published would contain lots of duplication. For example, if the search keyword is money laundering sometimes the last 10 articles would be just the same story published by 10 different newspapers or websites, is there a way to avoid this? Or is there a better news aggregator than Google News?

3. Instead of having multiple tabs of pre-determined topics, is it possible to have an input box on the dashboard where user can input their own topic or keyword and my dashboard would split out the list of articles sorted by date? If so, how do I go about it?

Appreciate any advice or guidance on this? Thanks everyone!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION