Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

carlos_delcid
Regular Visitor

Visual Interactions not working properly

Good day, I am very new to Power BI and am currently working with my first report. I have setup 3 particular charts, one column and two line charts with filter interaction enabled. All three are setup from the same data table. The "Downtime" column chart is generated from a different table with a relationship setup and working properly and is not the focus on this post.

Report Visuals and Interactions.PNG

The "KWh Sold by Month" shows data per month with a text column and both line charts show data per day by using a date column. Bare in mind I have to work with a financial calendar, meaning the start and end dates are defined in the table and will not match the regular calendar.

When a single column is selected from the column chart, the data is filtered correctly in the "KWh sold by Day" line chart but shows blank values for the selected month in the "Boiler Capacity" line chart:

Visuals filtered.PNG

Both charts are setup in the same way, except for the visual filters required for the data to be shown in each line chart and use the same table as source. 

This is a sample of the data table used for the three charts in question:

TablePBI.PNG

how can i make the filter interaction work correctly for both line charts?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @carlos_delcid,

You can try to apply the visual level filters in a measure. Then you can interact the visuals freely. Here is the file: https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArTqPk2pu-BkgQ1cYT_K_W_lUKBg

Measure KWH Sold =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( 'Dashboard Data'[Value] ),
    'Dashboard Data'[Attribute] = "KWH Sold"
)
Measure Boiler Capacity =
CALCULATE (
    'Dashboard Data'[Attribute] = "Boiler Capacity"
)

Visual Interactions not working properly.jpg

Best Regards!

Dale