Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

jchapmanICT

Using PowerBI with Project for the Web - Reporting on Summary Tasks and associated SubTask progress

Hi All:

Hoping someone can help guide me as a relative noob to both Project for the Web and PowerBI.

I need to be able to report on progress on completion of subtasks for each Summary Task in my project.

In essence the project plan is setup as follows:

Site 1

SubTask 1

SubTask 2

Site 2

SubTask 1

SubTask 2

etc etc...

In the PowerBI template for Project for the Web, there doesn't appear to be any way to visualise this. Can anyone help please? Treat me as a complete noob! 🙂

Thank you

J

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jchapmanICT

Hey Amit,

Thanks for the response. I have now realised that the tables and fields pulled in by the PowerBI template for Project on the Web are not complete. Pulling in the full dataset allows me to use a parent task field which effectively gives me a workaround for this. 

Thanks again

J

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
MelanieEB
Frequent Visitor

In cooperation with ChatGPT I was able to develop a funktion that uses the parent tasks to build up a hierarchy. In case anyone is interested in the code, pls. let me know. 

I would be interested. Please can you post it here and let us know how to use it?

Dear Nozama,

I hope the following is clear, if you have any questions, please let me know. 

Create a new Table (I called it Project Tasks Hierarchy) linked to Project Tasks Staging (Dataverse Table) with the following code 

let
Quelle = #"Project Tasks Staging",
AddHierarchyColumn = Table.AddColumn(Quelle, "Hierarchy", each GetHierarchy([msdyn_projecttaskid])),
#"Changed type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(AddHierarchyColumn,{{"Hierarchy", type text}}),