Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

BosJelle
Regular Visitor

Integrated DirectQuery data with Imported data cannot be published to workspace

Hi! 

I have a 'master' report with master data and 2 other reports from which I DirectQuery data into the master report. I want to combine the master data, with the data from the other two reports in a way that:

• When the data from the two reports is available it does not show these rows if they are also in the 'master' data
  • Else, show the 'master' data (rows)

The result is a combined dataset from the 2 DirectQuery's and the master data. I have built a query that does this. However, when I try to publish I get the following message:

"This dataset contains calculated tables or calculated columns that refer to remote tables, which will result in refresh failures after publication. Are you sure you want to continue publishing?"

How do i mitigate this and make sure that I can combine the data while removing any master data if rows are present in the other two (DirectQuery) reports?

Here an image to clarify:

BosJelle_0-1709799034504.png

Thanks in advance 🙂.

7 REPLIES 7
v-nuoc-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @BosJelle 

@lbendlin Thanks for your sharing!

I added some of my methods.

The warning message you're seeing is Power BI's way of alerting you to potential refresh issues post-publication due to the nature of calculated columns or tables referencing DirectQuery sources.

This is because, upon refresh, Power BI attempts to update these calculated elements based on the DirectQuery data, which can lead to failures if not configured correctly.

The following methods may solve your problem: