Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

abde139
Frequent Visitor

Import query from Oracle based on the data from extarnal table

I am new to power BI. Sorry if my question may be trivial.

I have data imported from azure cloud which contains about 1 000 lignes.

Id_cloudscore

I also have data from Oracle database that contains about 100 000 000 lignes.

Id_oraclenameemailphone
1name1name1@mail.com0123456
2name2name2@mail.com0123457
3name3name3@mail.com

I am trying to join the two tables based on ID in power BI. However, using the import query to import 100M lignes from oracle is too heavy and taking too much time, since we want only 1 000 data from it. And I could not find a way for the selected query to only include the ID in the external table ( cloud table).

Is there any way to select only selected ID from oracle database that much the ID in the cloud table already imported.

Many thanks in advance for your answer.

4 REPLIES 4
mh2587
Super User
Super User

1. Load both Data Sources:

• Load the data from your Azure Cloud source.
    • Load the data from your Oracle database source.
  2. Filter the Oracle Data:

• In Power Query, apply a filter to the Oracle data source to only include the rows with IDs that match the ones in your Azure Cloud table. You can use the "Filter Rows" transformation to achieve this.
  3. Merge the Tables:

• After filtering the Oracle data, you can merge or join the two tables in Power Query using the "Merge Queries" option. Here's how:

a. Select your Azure Cloud table in the Power Query window.

b. In the "Home" tab, click on "Merge Queries."

c. Choose the Oracle data source as the second table to merge.

d. Specify the join condition, which is matching the "ID_cloud" column from the Azure Cloud table with the filtered "ID" column from the Oracle table.