Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

SergioTorrinha
Resolver II
Resolver II

Filtering Wide Aggregation Table - How to ?

Hi everyone!

I have been working with PBI, practically since the start in 2015, and at this point I'm quite used to build my reports based on a star schema data model, because I know very well this is the best practice within PBI (and I would dare to say, within the current analytcs landscape... but this is another topic 👺).
However, there are specific scenarios that I'd like to learn how to address better, so I can comply to the requests that are thrown at me. 😎

With this in mind, I never knew very well how to deal with large and wide factual aggregated tables and the multiple filtering scenarios that report stakeholders, would like to be able to do on top of  numeric fields/columns from such tables.

Giving an example, when the table is very wide, let's say, for instance, 50 numeric fields and 6 categorical fields, recorded by one or more ID field/columns, how would one properly address the fact that the report stackeholders want to filter the table by 15 of those field/columns and present, in a dashboard, a matrix/table visual with some of the table information?  
Is there a 'best way' on how to design the data model in order to deal with this?
To clarify:

- of course that one could 'go back' and re-design the data model, in order to normalize the aggregated factual table and have a star schema in place, but the report requirement is really to filter data by the aggregated table numeric fields which is hard to do, I beleive, with the normalized data.

- table schema/structure/columns would be something like this:
id_field1 | ... | id_field4 | decimal_field_1 | ... | decimal_field_50 | categorical_field_1 | ... | categorical_field_6