Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

vinaydavid
Helper III
Helper III

Count of Open or Closed items based on 2 different Date Columns

Hi Experts,

I have a requirement to find the count of open/close items based on 2 different date columns. Finding it hard as I am new to power bi.

Here is scenario:

Table:

Date Initiatedclosed/openclosed
1/01/2019open 
1/01/2019closed1/02/2019
1/01/2019open 
1/02/2019open 
1/02/2019closed1/03/2019
1/02/2019open 

Expected Result:

Chart with Open/Closed Status (Clustered column bar). (Month on X-axis)

Jan - Open 2 Close 0

Feb - Open 4 Close 1

Mar - Open 4 Close 1

Open should give the count of all the previous months where 'Closed' column is BLANK.

And an underlying Table visualization(with few columns from query for further analysis - for users) should help to know, which are 'closed' and which are 'open' when we click on the Clustered bar.

Thanks for your support!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I added a running total measure and a filter measure [DateRange] based on the max closed data of the selected category then applied that to the second chart that will shift the displayed month as you select a category.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8xy30j2qq0c8mi5/OpenOrClosed.pbix?dl=0

Edit* tweaked it a bit to allow selection of multiple categories to drive the visual properly

openorclosed.jpg

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

You can use a date table to get what you are looking for.

Join your data table to the date table on the Date Initiated, this will be the active relationship.

Join your data table to the date table on the closed date, this relationship will be inactive but we will use it in a measure.

Open Count = 
    CALCULATE(
        COUNTROWS(Projects),
        Projects[open/close] = "Open"
    )
Closed Count =