Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

HungryPowerBIer
Frequent Visitor

Count Multiple items by the item

Hello all! I am a bit new to Power BI and I am looking for a forumla to help me with another formula. I have items that I need to count, that have the same name and are linked to data that cannot be separated. For example

Orange

Orange

Orange

Orange

Banana

Banana

Banana

Kiwi

Kiwi

Plum

Plum

So, every version of count and/or sum I have tried gives me a total of 12 here for all items, instead of returning results like the following: 

Orange 4

Banana 3

Kiwi 2

Plum 2

I know this can be accomplished by visualizations, but I need either a measure or column that I can create that will would with the following formula: 

RANKX(ALLSELECTED(Query [Fruit]), [Total Fruit Count], , DESC)

This formula is returning a 1 value for all of my items, even though in visualizations it is returning the proper ranking. Any help would be appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BhaveshPatel
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @HungryPowerBIer,

You can also use the alternative approach by creating a new table on top of your base table.

Go to the Data tab on the left hand side, then go to modelling tab and under the calculations, you would see the new table.

Select and Paste the below DAX Syntax,

MyTable= SUMMARIZE(BaseTable,
                                        BaseTable[Fruit],
                                          "TotalRows",COUNTROWS(BaseTable))

And then create a calculated column in your newly created MyTable using the below syntax to get the ranking of the products.

RankingColumn= COUNTROWS(FILTER(MyTable,EARLIER([TotalRows])>[TotalRows]))+1

Thanks,

Bhavesh

Thanks & Regards,
Bhavesh

Love the Self Service BI.