Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

SudoFi

Compare Active Directory Environments Users/Groups/Group_Memberships

I have 2 active directory environments we are doing a refresh on (development ("dev-ad.com") and pulling the data from production ("prod-ad.com")

I have connected and pulled each environment into its own report. The current environment we are refreshing is developement. I need to be able to ensure all UsersGroups and Group Memberships are as close to production as possible. Each environment is using a different domain so OU, DN, and CN will all have slights diffrent values due to this. 

I am faily new to PowerBI, self-taught. So Im trying to figure out the best method for creating a report that will compare Dev AD with Prod AD. 

Data:
dev_group
dev_group_memebers
dev_user
prod_group
prod_group_members
prod_user

There are too many columns to specify for each data group. Essentially I have;
- all attributes for users
- basic for groups
- group members i have group distinguishedName, member.displayName, member.employeeNumber, member.employeeType, member.userPrincipalName, group top.name.

I really could use alot of help here. I have been beeing my head against the wall trying to learn as much as I can in order to do all of this, which seems kind of advance but thats just my opinion. 

2 REPLIES 2
v-binbinyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @SudoFi ,

Please try below steps:

Steps1: Data Preparation
Given the complexity and volume of the data you're dealing with, the first step is to ensure your data is well-prepared for comparison. This involves structuring your data in a way that facilitates easy comparison despite the differences in domain names.