Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

th21
Frequent Visitor

DAX Importing Measures from tabular server into table

I am new to DAX, and I am trying to build a query for a report. I have figured out a lot by myself, but I am stuck on this current problem.

I am connecting to a Tabular Data Server which lists "Sales Dollars" and "Sales Dollars LY" as Measures (1.2 Double).

I want to know the best way to load Measure into a table that also includes several Non-Measures (i.e. Text and Numbers such as 'Table'[Value]) and a ton of Filters (some of which have multiple criteria)?

Here is the code I am currently using. It runs, but it doesn't give me everything I am looking for. See comments in the code. I am open to using a different method (i.e. SUMMARIZECOLUMNS) as long as it works!

EVALUATE
	CALCULATETABLE (
		ROW (
		// I would like to list each 'Calendar'[Month Name/Year] i.e. "January 2023"
			"Sales $ TY", [Sales Dollars],
			"Sales $ LY", [Sales Dollars LY]
		),
		'Calendar'[Month Name/Year] IN {"January 2023", "February 2023", "March 2023", "April 2023", "May 2023", "June 2023"},
		'Calendar'[Year Number] = 2023,
		'Transaction Category'[Transaction Category] = "Wholesale",
		'Transaction Type'[Transaction Group] = "Group C",
	// Line below also needs to filter by:    'Transaction Type'[TT] = "Type D"
		'Transaction Type'[TT] = "Type A"
	)

2 REPLIES 2
th21
Frequent Visitor

Thank you for your response.

I have revised what I would like the table to look like so you can better understand:

YearTotal Sales (Jan - Jun)
2023 (TY)3875
2022 (LY)4185

Ideally, I would also like an expanded version of it showing month by month:

YearJan SalesFeb SalesMar SalesApr SalesMay SalesJun SalesTotal
2023 (TY)5004506007007259003875
2022 (LY)55042561075075011004185

More background: