Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

BernieP

XMLA will not connect - 'ClaimsToken' is not supported for native connections

I'm pretty new to Power BI, this is my first post, not completely sure I'm in the right place.  I'm trying to connect with the xmla endpoint using SQL Server Management Studio version 19.3. 
I've tried two different connect strings one from model file's "settings" then "Semantic Models" menu: 
Which looks like this: 
Data Source=powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/PRD_CDC_2;Initial Catalog=MDM-Hello-World-D1;

And from Workspace Settings Premium menu which looks like this: 
powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/PRD_CDC_2 

No matter what I do I am getting: 

Cannot connect to Data Source=powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/PRD_CDC_2;Initial Catalog=MDM-Hello-World-D1;.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

The integrated security 'ClaimsToken' is not supported for native connections. (Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient)

login_1.PNG

 I noticed that even after I change my real email to the dummy email first.last@mydomain.com I get the same error so it doesn't seem like the authentication is making it off of my PC.  

when I try using: powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/PRD_CDC_2 
and putting the "Connect to Database" as my semantic model name: MDM-Hello-World-D1

I then get a different error... 

login_2.PNG

TITLE: Connect to Server
Cannot connect to powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/PRD_CDC_2.

A connection cannot be made. Ensure that the server is running. (Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient)

Invalid URI: The hostname could not be parsed. (Microsoft.AnalysisServices.AdomdClient)

I am an admin on the workspace, and I own the semantic model have also made sure to enable the