Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

marksman1941

Merging multiple tables in power query

Hi all. Brand new user here, but I've been lurking for a few weeks. I'm new to Power BI, and while I think I'm getting close to a solution I still don't have things quite right regarding my use of Power Query. 

I will be getting monthly spreadsheets with fairly messy data on them that will need cleaned up on a regular basis. The spreadsheet I am working with currently has 5 separate tables with several common column titles, and several unique to each spreadsheet. The data contained is personnel information, and some names are duplicated across multiple tables. My goal is to have a single iteration of each name whether it appears 1 or 5 times, and all information from each table for that person drawn into a single table. The data set is much larger, but the table below is representative of the raw input I have. 

Record ID Last NameFirst NameGender   
111SmithJamesM  
222JohnsonJackM  
333RandomSomeF  

Record ID Last NameFirst NameGender Status? 
111SmithJamesMActive 
222JohnsonJackMInactive 
333RandomSomeF  

Record ID Last NameFirst NameGender CodeLocation
111SmithJamesM6Downtown
222JohnsonJackM5Home
333RandomSomeF6Local
444SubjectTestF2 

Record ID Last NameFirst NameGender CodeLocation
111SmithJamesM6Downtown
222JohnsonJackM5Home
333RandomSomeF6Local
444SubjectTestF2 

My goal for the data outcome is to look like this

Record ID Last NameFirst NameGender Status?CodeLocation
111SmithJamesMActive6Downtown
222JohnsonJackMInactive5Home
333RandomSomeF 6Local
444SubjectTestFInactive2 

My process so far has been -

* Ensure all headers are identical

* Get Data from Table and save as a connection, for all 5 tables.