Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Scaffnull
Helper I
Helper I

Combining two columns based on numbers

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie when it comes to PowerBi but with some background in Excel. I have two tables (Sheet1), (Sheet2) that consist with matching numbers. I'm searching for a function to first go through every row of each column, and if there is a match then add them into a new column. Also, if there isn't a match from (Sheet1) to (Sheet2), add the new numbers from (Sheet1) on to (Sheet2)?

I have a hard time figure out the functions to use, and how do I specify to look for the matching numbers?

Thanks for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
amunshi
Frequent Visitor

You can achieve the automation using Google Sheets and Google Scripts to copy the missing values from Sheet1 to Sheet 2 and then feeding this final sheet as the input to your PowerBI Dashboard. 
Google Sheets can be set on auto-update where if the data in either sheet changes the other will have it copied with the help of triggers available in Google Scripts. 
And there is a video on how to automate data refresh in PowerBI so whenever your dataset is refreshed in PowerBI the same will reflect in your dashboards. Hope this helps.  
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8NlEeIIRiQ

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Scaffnull
Helper I
Helper I

@amunshi Perfect I will check it out. Appreciate the help! Thanks

amunshi
Frequent Visitor

You can achieve the automation using Google Sheets and Google Scripts to copy the missing values from Sheet1 to Sheet 2 and then feeding this final sheet as the input to your PowerBI Dashboard.