Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

danca

Struggling to calculate an average of ages including zero

Hi everyone! I'm wondering if anyone here is able to guide me in the right direction regarding an issue I've been having. I am no expert in Power BI so I'm almost certain that this issue has an easy solution but I haven't been able to find it in these forums or elsewhere.

I have a database with data of different units within a hospital, and how many patients of different ages they see every month. In this database, each row if a different age at a different hospital unit on a different month, and then there is a column that expresses the number of patients of that age that were seen in the specific hospital unit on the specific month. I attach an example of the date, with all identifiers removed:

MonthUnitAgeNumber of patients
JanuaryHeart surgery02
JanuaryHeart surgery16
JanuaryHeart surgery24
JanuaryHeart surgery311
JanuaryHeart surgery49
JanuaryPsychiatric unit00
JanuaryPsychiatric unit10
JanuaryPsychiatric unit23
JanuaryPsychiatric unit38
JanuaryPsychiatric unit419
FebruaryPsychiatric unit00
FebruaryPsychiatric unit10
FebruaryPsychiatric unit21
FebruaryPsychiatric unit35
FebruaryPsychiatric unit414

What I'm trying to do is have a card in my Power BI report that shows the average age of all patients seen by the unit that the user chooses (through a slicer), on the month the user chooses. So in the example above, the average age of all patients seen by the Heart surgery unit in January should be 2.59.