Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

jfletch
Frequent Visitor

Running total / cumulative sum with a target value in dax

I have a dataset of companies and the revenue they have achieved in a particular year. I am new to DAX and I need to get a running total measure of those revenues such that the running total does not go beyond a certain target or limit.

YearRankingCompanyRevenueRT( Target = 14)
20221ABC1010
20222DEF910
20223GHI313
20234JKL114
20235MNO114

Assuming the target below is 14, any time the running total is greater than 14, we maintain the last running total until the total is less than 14.

In the example above: ABC (10) + DEF (9)  = 19, so running total stays at previous 10 on line 2. DEF (now 10) + GHI (3) = 13, so running total is now 13 on line 3. GHI (13) + JKL (1) = 14, so running total is now 14 on line 4. JKL (14) + MNO (1) is 15, so running total stays at 14 on line 5.

This can be achieved with the Excel formula IF(D2+B3 >14,D2, D2+B3). I am able to get the running total in DAX but I'm unable to customise this with a target in mind. 

RunningTotal = CALCULATE(sum('Dataset'[Revenue]),
    filter(ALLSELECTED('Dataset'[Year], 'Dataset'[Company], 'Dataset'[Ranking]),
    'Dataset'[Ranking] <= max('Dataset'[Ranking])
    ))

Please help.

7 REPLIES 7
v-yueyunzh-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi , @jfletch 

According to your description, you want to get the target value by the rankx and when the sum of revenue greater than 14 it will keep above value.

For you need , the best way is to realize in Power Query Editor.

We can click "New Custom Column" and enter :

vyueyunzhmsft_0-1684287298366.png

List.Accumulate(Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type",(a)=>a[Ranking]<=[Ranking])[Revenue] ,0,(x,y)=>if x+y>14 then x else x+y)

Then we can get this :

vyueyunzhmsft_1-1684287322087.png