Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

kris_cs1
Frequent Visitor

Relationship / Modelling Help

Hi, I am hoping someone can help with this. 

I have the following relationships:

- A student has multiple results (although there are mutliple rows per student in uvLoginsAll_TB)

- A question has multiple results (one for each student)

- An exam has multiple questions 

I now need to include AARA information. However, each row in the AARA table has a relationship to a particular student for a particular exam only. I can seem to create one relationship but not both. 

Any help would be appreciated. I'm sure it is quite straightforward but I'm new to PBI from Tableau and want to get things right.

Thanks.

Untitled.png

4 REPLIES 4
kris_cs1
Frequent Visitor

Thanks so much. If there is a better way to structure the data, that would be great to know as well. We are just in the prototype phase.

Hi Kris,

here is some sample prototype:

bolfri_0-1679608060746.png

In Power Query M I've splitted "uvLoginsAll_TB" to generate dim_students table with qunique StudentID and fact_class table with information which students go to which classes. I coudn't find any connection to ClassCode to the rest of the tables, but I can imagine that each exam belongs to some specyfic class. Then it's better to create dim_class and connect it to fact_class and dim_exam.

I hope that make sense. 

With this model you can do anything you want in PBI. 😄 Notice that NONE of relationship is bidirectional and it suppose to be that way.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!