Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Maxime_DL

RANKING ON DATES AND 2 GROUPS

Hello,

I'm new to DAX and I'm trying to index dates chronologically, grouped by customers and contracts. This index must respect the filters.

Exemple :

I have a dataset with columns CLIENT, CONTRAT and DATE and possible filter on this 3 column

2023-07-29_14h23_12.png

I want to add an index column with exepted result like :

2023-07-29_14h22_55.png

Can someone help me please ?

Regards,

Max

5 REPLIES 5
foodd
Super User
Super User

A date table in Power BI  needs to be unique because it serves as the foundation for date-based calculations and relationships within the data model. When creating a date table, it should consist of unique and continuous dates, typically covering a range of dates without any duplicates or gaps.

I understand the importance of having unique dates but in my case they are not and it is for this reason that I cannot index my dates and that I created this post. This data represents insurance claims. A customer may have a claim on an insurance contract on the same date as another customer or on another contract. Is there a way to circumvent the problem?

Hypothetically, adding your 'Claim number' (and if it is a combination of claim number + indicator + Claimant ID for processing step or change (if necessary) would allow for a unique identifier in the queries).   You will need to test and confirm any relationships and filtering within the model. 

foodd
Super User
Super User

The reply was created from a phone and is untested.  An explanation of the general pattern and a

the sample is below.   You will need to test and adjust the measure where needed.  The key is RANKX

which you can research and find tutorials on for further use.