Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Luden76
Frequent Visitor

One slicer to control two columns at the same time

Hello Guys,

I'm quite new to power bi. I have just one lookup table and multiple fact tables and their relationships are all one to many. I want to create a slicer using category column in the lookup table to filter one specific table based on either category or old category columns. Also this slicer is filtering other visuals as a normal filter.

Luden76_0-1644964693528.png

For example if you select golf, this one specific table is going to show category = golf or old category = golf.

Luden76_2-1644964876680.png

So I'm thinking that I can create a measure counting rows based on the criteria above and get 1 if true for each row and filter that measure = 1

I created this measure:

PickThis =
var _selectedCategory = SELECTEDVALUE(MA_Lookup[Category Desc])
return
CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(MA_Up_Downgrade) , FILTER(ALL(MA_Up_Downgrade),MA_Up_Downgrade[Category Desc] = _selectedCategory || MA_Up_Downgrade[Old Category] = _selectedCategory ))

So basically if either column is golf, then count each row as 1. Then later I can filter this measure to 1 to achieve my goal. However, if I select golf, it's giving me total numbers for each row instead of 1 if the condition is true. Also if nothing is selected, it's showing blank, but I need the table to show all.
Luden76_3-1644965496963.png
Luden76_0-1645027948438.png

P.S. I have tried creating a diconnected slicer table including all categories and it worked, but in the ideal situation, I only need one slicer only from lookup table instead of two.

Here is the sample file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/15gVjklMerU-AgayrmMqezptByh3tQq51/view?usp=sharing 

3 REPLIES 3
DataInsights
Super User
Super User

@Luden76,